Beyond Sushi – Where Nemo Won’t Be Found! – New York, NY

I had eaten vegan sushi before, which was good. However, it was often mere veganized versions of your run-of-the-mill sushi rolls. When I heard about Beyond Sushi last year, I was interested to see what their take on sushi would be. However, I never made it down to East 14th Street to check it out. THEN, at this year’s NYC Vegetarian Food Festival, I saw that Beyond Sushi had a table and the brightly colored sushi pieces (pure art). What I saw simply amazed and had me aching to go.

So, a little bit of history of Beyond Sushi. It was founded in 2012 by Chef Guy Vaknin. Chef Guy was a contestant on Season 10 the reality competition show, Hell’s Kitchen (U.S.), starring Chef Gordon Ramsey. After his time on the show, Guy became greatly influenced by a plant-based diet. Thus, Beyond Sushi was born.


Crunch ‘N Munch Roll: I would have taken a photo of the Enoki and Mango, but my tummy said “NO”

Back to our meal. My friend and I went for one of the combo plates. We both had the Crunch ‘N Munch roll which was made of forbidden black rice, alfalfa, English cucumber, baked tofu and topped with a slice of kiwi and white miso sauce. I also had an individual piece of Enoki (Japanese mushroom) sushi and a piece of mango sushi. All delicious! My friend also had the Classic Miso Soup, which she said was really good.


Spicy Noodle Soup: YES, SOUP FOR YOU! 

Artie went for the Spicy Noodle Soup, which was a Pick-Your-Own offering. He selected Udon noodles (they also offer Soba) and the mix of grilled romaine heart, julienned carrots, baked tofu, cilantro and asparagus. Artie was IN LOVE to say the least. He’s a soup kind of guy by nature, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen him take such delight in a soup at a restaurant. I did try a little, and was pleasant surprised, especially by the romaine heart as I never had it grilled before.

My friend and I also tried out the fresh lemonades; mine being blueberry and hers being cucumber. Both good. I need to learn how to many blueberry lemonade at home that isn’t too sweet or too tart and doesn’t require adding any sweetener!

I will say what really makes Beyond Sushi a great foodie spot is the shear presentation and care taken in preparation to make sure what you’re eating is beautiful on the outside and good, healthy and hearty for your inside! So, guess who’s making a return trip…repeatedly?

By the way, this was on the placard outside the restaurant. Pretty cool, eh?

Beyond Sushi
229 East 14th Street
New York, NY 10003
(646) 861-2889
www.beyondsushinyc.com

One Reply to “Beyond Sushi – Where Nemo Won’t Be Found! – New York, NY”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

