Candle Cafe Vegan Frozen Meals…Part Deux

Since we really enjoyed the Tofu Spinach Ravioli and Seitan Piccata with Lemon Caper Sauce, we had to try Candle Cafe’s 2 other frozen meals: Macaroni & Vegan Cheese and Ginger Miso Stir Fry. As we did the last time, Artie and I split both meals and shared what we liked and didn’t like. 
The Macaroni & Vegan Cheese hands down was our favorite of the 4 varieties. The combination of the Daiya cheese with something like a vegan béchamel sauce just made the dish creamy and smooth. The Daiya surprisingly melted  nicely and mixed well with the sauce. It brought me to a jazzed up stove-top mac & cheese my mom made when I was a kid. All it needed as just a sprinkling of some toasted breadcrumbs to make it perfetto! The only downside is that I found that I had to microwave the meal about 2-3 minutes longer than the microwave instructions.
The Ginger Miso Stir Fry wasn’t bad. It wasn’t my favorite, because it was a little bit salty to me. The saltiness wasn’t so overpowering that I could taste the ginger flavor, which was nice. However, out of all 4, the stir-fry was like how I remember frozen meals tasting: like something that came out of the microwave (rather hard to describe). Nothing wowed me, but if I was in a pinch and it was what I had left in the freezer, I would get it. Then again, for the price, I doubt I’d bother purchasing.
Overall, we enjoyed both dishes. There were some misses with the Ginger Miso Stir Fry, but it wasn’t inedible. The Mac & Cheese was amazing and surprised by the taste. Again, for the price, these would be splurges once in a while. Well, the Mac & Cheese. I’d probably get the Ginger Miso Stir Fry if it were on sale. 
As frozen meals come, Candle Cafe is of a superior quality. It’s not like the dishes you would get from any of their locations, but it’s not like your common, everyday frozen meal. I almost wish they were the Kid Cuisines or TV dinners back in the day where you got a dessert with it! I’d could go for that and then I may be okay with the price.
If I had to list my faves of the varieties in order, it would be:
Macaroni & Vegan Cheese
Tofu Spinach Ravioli
Seitan Piccata with Lemon Caper Sauce
Ginger Miso Stir Fry

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

