Candle Cafe Vegan Frozen Meals…Part One

We love Candle! Yes, we do! We love Candle, because they have awesome food!
And wouldn’t you know, you can now get their deliciousness at your local Whole Foods! I think I first saw an ad for Candle Cafe’s frozen food line a couple of weeks ago. It was cool so good to now be able to have their meals at home without slaving over a stove! However, considering the luck we’ve had with our nearby Whole Foods, we figured that they wouldn’t have it. That would mean a trek into Manhattan, which I couldn’t be bothered to do (It’s a bit difficult having worked in NJ for the last year). Well, what a surprise we got when I saw Whole Foods in Yonkers carry all 4 meals!!!
So, to start, we went for the Tofu Spinach Ravioli and the Seitan Piccata with Lemon Caper Sauce. The latter I LURVED at Candle 79. We knew it would be good, but considering it would be frozen, we didn’t think it would totally wow us. Boy, were we impressed. Granted, being a frozen meal, the portion would be smaller than restaurant-size, but it was perfect and filling!
Artie and I actually split the 2 meals for dinner one evening, because sharing is caring! We both were very happy with the taste, quality and ease to prepare, especially the fact that they had the same microwave cook times.  
If I had to pick one over the other, I would say I liked the ravioli slightly a bit more. The reason was the tomato sauce. Just as it said on the label, it was classic and very comforting. The Seitan Piccata was on point, fully of flavor and caper-y kick, which I normally hate, but have gotten to love thanks to Candle! If I didn’t  have a fear of people stealing my lunch from the freezer, I’d totally bring these to work! 
Yes, the price of the meals is on the higher side (approx. $6.49 per box). However, for the quality of food you’re getting, I would say it’s worth the splurge every now and then. Plus, you can impress your office mates with how fancy shmancy you are for having such a snazzy meal!
I’m not going to go into details of each meal. That, you NEED to experience for yourself. So, we’ll just share the photos and let your eyes enjoy!

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

