Pure Food and Wine – New York, New York

Having just gotten over a really nasty cold, I was looking forward to a great day far away from the sick bed and downing medicine. Artie and I went into Manhattan for our first totally raw dining experience at Pure Food and Wine in Gramercy on Saturday afternoon. It was not only eye-opening, but one of the most delicious meal we’ve ever had in this little town of ours.

We were excited to check out the menu and make our choices. I knew I wanted a juice with my meal, as I’ve been on a juicing kick as of late. So, I went for the Hot Pink (beets, pears, pineapple and ginger) and ordered the Spicy Thai Lettuce Wraps. Artie was torn between the Pumpkinseed and Herb Salad and the Tomato and Zucchini Lasagna. After checking in with our waitress (super nice and knowledgeable), she suggested the lasagna as being the “signature” dish. Of course, that sealed it for Artie and that’s what he ordered.

With everything being raw, you know it has to be fresh. What we received on our plate went well beyond our expectations of freshness and clean eating. Our food actually came out pretty quickly (bonus of not cooking the meal, I guess). The presentation was simply beautiful from the literal hot pink color of the juice to the amazing balanced tower of the lasagna and the brightness of the wraps. Almost too good to eat, our stomachs made us do just that!

As you can see from the photos above, we devoured our food. I will say that I got full 1/2 way through, partly from having the juice. So, Artie had to help me out a bit. He happily obliged, as everything was so delicious. Artie actually said “This is one of the best meals I’ve ever had in my life.” That coming from him was major, as he’s the son of a chef.

The lasagna tasted better than some baked lasagnas I’ve had in Little Italy or on Arthur Avenue. The Spicy Thai Lettuce Wraps (sprouts, cabbage, cashews mango and fresh herbs wrapped in collard leaves and served with a tamarind sauce) were simply stunning and refreshing. What I think made both dishes was how simple they were yet so nicely intricate in flavor.

With surprisingly full bellies, we just had to have dessert. Earlier in the day, we had tweeted about our trip to Pure and nicely enough we were pointed to the Mallomar and sundaes. No way were we going to finish a sundae. So Artie who loved Mallomars as a kid ordered one for himself. Then, I ordered the fig bar, and his eyes widened. Needless to say when both arrived, we were like 2 happy little kids. In so many words, our treats were shared, eaten and then gone.

Our time at Pure Food and Wine was just great. From our lovely waitress to the inviting decor to our yummy eats, everything was wonderful. I cannot say enough how impressed we were. What is “eating raw?” I do not profess to know, but I know now that it’s definitely more than eating a salad.

I cannot say if I would ever venture down a solely raw path. However, if I can eat like we ate at Pure, I’d totally not be opposed. Not to mention, Artie can live on the lasagna everyday, if he was “forced” to do so.

We plan to be back soon and will bring a friend or relative or both next time!

Pure Food and Wine
54 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003
212-477-1010

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

