Homemade Black Bean Burgers & BEAT Loaf

My first homemade black bean burger on potato bun!
This past weekend has been full of kitchen experiments, whipping up recipes and trying foods I’d never eaten until now. For instance, I made a chickpea marinara (recipe to follow), millet cereal with sauteed berries and fresh carrot-apple juice (first time juicing and with the Vita-Mix). I certainly kept myself busy, and really surprised myself with now well things turned out.
On Sunday, I decided to cook 6 cups of dry black beans that I bought from Fairway Market a couple of weeks ago. At first, I thought I’d use 1/2 of the beans for a chili and the other 1/2 as a spread for oat flour soft tacos. Then, I scrapped that idea and made some black bean burgers and black bean “BEAT” loaf.
I was scared to make both, as I usually use black beans as a side. After cooking up the black beans, I mashed up the beans, folded in some chickpea flour and flaxmeal and added some garlic, onions, bell peppers and carrots with chili powder, cayenne and black pepper. I split the mixture into a loaf and 8 burgers. The loaf was baked to have during the week (with cauliflower mash or turnip fries). The burgers were formed with half being frozen and the other half being cooked right away.
The burgers were our dinner on Sunday evening. I served them on potato buns, made from mashed potatoes, spices and a bit of veggie broth. With a side of Brussels spouts, my favorite veggie, and a side salad with beets, everything was all set. Now, fries or even some tortilla chips would have gone nicely, but we were good kids and not going off our diet plan. 
If I make the burgers or loaf again, I have to write up a recipe! Whipping up deliciousness is worth all of the time playing in the kitchen, good or bad! And, if you hadn’t noticed, we like playing with our food 🙂 
Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

