The Food Duo Reads: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I…love…to…BAKE! Okay, so it’s not really a secret!
Baking is hobby of mine. I like making things for others and take requests often (Yes, Moe, I owe you chocolate-chocolate chip cookies). Since becoming vegan, I find the challenge on creating breads, cakes, cookies and pies (OH MY!) to be really fun. It’s exciting to pick up new cookbooks and to experiment with vegan alternatives and simple substitutes. 
The one of my most recent cookbook pick-ups was Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero (If you’re not familiar with these awesome ladies, then you need to be). Their cupcake book is full of simple and creative recipes with super-delicious photos. The moment I opened the book, I saw the recipe for Brooklyn vs. Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes (pg. 65), and had to try them. Sadly, we were out of silken tofu. I put that on the back-burner and went for the Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (pg. 33), which came out perfectly light yet moist.
I wanted to make the Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting from the book, but didn’t have shortening. Plus, I was pretty tired from a long day at work. S,o I forewent that and decided to just make my own frosting. The frosting went really well with the cupcakes! 
I will be challenging myself over the weekend to finally make the Brooklyn vs. Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes and maybe the Banana Split Cupcakes. I’ll let you know the results.

Mac’s Minty Chocolatey Frosting

Source: Mac’s Craving for Cupcake Frosting
Makes enough for some and not enough for others (approx. 2 cups)
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 c. vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp. soy margarine
  • 1/4 c. hot water
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp. peppermint extract
Directions:
  1. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt chips with margarine for 1 minute. Stir, then melt for another 30 seconds, if still lumpy
  2. Spoon melted chocolate into bowl of stand mixer with the whisk attachment. Add hot water to bowl and stir on low for 2 minutes
  3. Slowly pour in the powdered sugar. Be sure scraping down the sides of bowls to incorporate all of the sugar
  4. Stir in the vanilla and peppermint extracts
  5. Allow mixture to a bowl and set in fridge to cool for approximately 30 minutes
Our calendar cat can’t wait to eat his cuppycake!
One Reply to “The Food Duo Reads: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

