Banana-Raisin Bread Pudding

Growing up, my aunt would often make bread pudding with raisins. She rarely baked anything. She often made puddings, Jell-O and the holiday ambrosia salad (no complaints). Her bread pudding was good, but I don’t think I really appreciated this dessert until I was an adult. I just looked at it as a way to use up old bread before it spoiled, rather than something delicious. However, more and more, cooking shows and restaurants appeared to be highlighting this as a star of a dessert menu.

In the recent years, I’ve started to really enjoy the taste and texture of bread pudding, especially complimenting a rustic or peasant dish. When done right, it’s balanced in sweetness and richness, but doesn’t sit like a brick in your tummy. It can stand alone or be paired nicely with whipped or ice cream. This, of course, is being stated by someone who has never made bread pudding in her life until the other day. 

Using my idea of how bread pudding should be made and having an abundance of bananas, I decided to try my hand at it. Though my aunt never shared her recipe, I tried to go off of how I remembered hers tasting. I definitely went the easy route.

Banana-Raisin Bread Pudding
Source: Macaroon’s Idea of How It Should Be
Serves 8


Ingredients:
  • 8 slices of cinnamon-raisin bread  (vegan, of course)
  • 2 Tbsp soy margarine, melted
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 2 c. soy milk
  • 1 Tbsp raw cane sugar
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 10.5″ x 7″ (1.25qt) baking dish
  2. Cut bread into 4×4 pieces, place in a large bowl and set aside
  3. In a separate medium bowl, mix melted margarine with the brown sugar
  4. Add the bananas, milk and vanilla to the medium bowl and stir well
  5. Fold the banana-milk mixture into the bread until well combined
  6. Pour into the baking dish, place in oven and bake for 40-45 minutes

We’ve linked up this recipe with a great blog, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, and her Sweet for a Saturday post! Check out the blog and link up your recipe!

6 Replies to “Banana-Raisin Bread Pudding”

  1. This looks delicious! I never thought of using cinnamon rasin bread bread. What a great idea! Although i haven't been able to write comments, i have been following you! When I find more time, I need to come back! Thanks for sharing!

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

