Blood Orange Ice Cream…FAIL!

I’m not afraid to acknowledge my shortcomings and failures. In fact, that’s one of my “tragic downfalls” in life, because I can often be too willing to share. Maybe I’m a bit too honest? Who knows.

Anyway, I just had a MAJOR failure in the kitchen. All excited to expand my homemade ice cream repertoire, a blood orange ice cream made with cashew cream came to mind. Since the cashew ice cream I made earlier the month was a success, I didn’t think it would be too hard to try another flavor. At the same time, I wanted to make sure it had a creamier texture than the original. So I decided to play around with arrowroot.

My daringness turned into something just okay in taste but total crud in execution. I would post a picture, but you wouldn’t really get the effect of what the end result was. After an overnight freeze, we had an ice brick! My scooper was more of a scraper. The ice cream looked like a grainy/powdery mess. It wouldn’t even hold together to even look like ice cream.

So here’s what I tried to do:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of cashew cream
  • 1 cup of soy milk, plain or vanilla
  • 1 cup of blood orange juice
  • Pulp of 1 blood orange, pith and seeds removed
  • 1 cup of cane sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp arrowroot

Directions:

  1. Put all ingredients into blender and mix well
  2. Pour a mixture into a saucepan over medium heat
  3. Bring to a simmer, lower heat and cook for 10 minutes, whisking occasionally
  4. Let mixture sit until slightly cooled, about 20 minutes
  5. Pour into an airtight container and freeze overnight
If you can let me know what I did wrong, I will love you forever and try again!
Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

