V is for Cookie!


Before we embarked on our vegan journey, I’ve been goo-goo-ga-ga for vegan chocolate chip cookies from Whole Foods. They taste so much better than their regular chocolate chip cookies, which are good in their own right. However, there is something about the vegan ones that I cannot resist upon each visit, despite their high price. Oddly enough, I’ve never had the desire to try to bake my own…well, not until now, that is. Thank you, Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terri Hope Romero for Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar (and your other cookbook gems).

So of course you know that being vegan doesn’t mean you’re dead…or can’t have sweet delicious goodness. Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar proves just that point. Now, don’t let this little book fool you. The book packs a punch with mouth-watering, quick and easy recipes running the gamut of cookies and brownie treats from Snickerdoodles, Samoas (right there with the Girl Scout kind) and the traditional…well, okay, maybe not…Chocolate Chip Cookies!

The Chocolate Chip Cookies are the bomb-diggity (and I can’t believe I actually typed that)! I cannot tell you how many time I’ve made these recently. I’m totally addicted. They beat the pants off of Whole Foods (sorry  – I still love you though when I don’t feel like baking) They are the perfect combination of airy, gooey, chewy and chocolatey! I know a couple of folks who wouldn’t know these were vegan. Those that are vegan have raved for them.

So guess what, kids?!?! This book is now on my go-to cookie baking list, which I should probably share some time. And with that, I’m saving some cash and stepping away from the Whole Paycheck, er I mean, Foods Bakery section/

– Macarooneyrooooooooooo

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

