Pumpkin Corn Chowder

I’ve never had a vegan cream soup before. However, after our trip to the Dominican Republic and having a great vegetarian pumpkin cream soup, I decided that I wanted to make one of my own sans dairy, using fresh pumpkin that we picked a couple of weeks go.

Thanks to one of my new favorite sites, VegWeb.com, I found a great recipe, which I used as a base. I tweaked it quite a bit with fresher ingredients and added spices. I also decided to slow cook it with our trusted crockpot. It came out pretty darn good.

Pumpkin Corn Chowder
Source: Member corduroy posted on VegWeb.com
Serves: 7 one-cup serving
s

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Tablespoons vegan margarine
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 (10 oz.) package frozen whole kernel corn, thawed
  • 1 (16 oz.) can pumpkin
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 Tablespoon Turbinado sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups vanilla soymilk
Macachoke Tweaks: I used approximately 4 cups of chopped roasted pumpkin in place of the pumpkin puree. I cut the kernels from 2 ears of fresh corn instead of using frozen corn. I bumped up the sugar to 2.5 Tablespoons.I didn’t have vanilla soymilk. So I used unsweetened soymilk with 1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. The ground cinnamon was replaced with a cinnamon stick. I also added 1 teaspoon of curry powder, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and fresh ground pepper. You may have to tweak the spices to get the flavor you want.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Melt the vegan margarine in a dutch oven or large pot; add onion, and saute until tender. Add the corn and cook,stirring occasionally, for 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in the pumpkin and the next 4 ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in th soymilk; cook until thoroughly heated (DO NOT BOIL).
  3. Enjoy!
Macachoke Tweaks: Place all ingredients in crockpot. Cook the chowder on low for 5 to 6 hours. At the last 30 minutes, remove the cinnamon stick. Then, use an immersion blender to combine the ingredients into a nice thick chowder. If you do not have an immersion blender, ladle mixture in a standard blender and puree for 30 seconds to 1 minute.
3 Replies to “Pumpkin Corn Chowder”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

