Pear Sauce – The Best Pancake Topping!

On Saturday, my mom dropped off two boxes of Riviera pears she received as a gift from a friend of hers. Other than just eating them, my mom wanted me to come up with different ways. So I asked the gals on the What’s Cooking board at TheNest.com for pear recipes. One of the members, blu-eyedwife, shared her Pear Sauce recipe on her blog, Paved with Good Intentions.

Though the recipe paired the sauce with potato and carrot latkes, I decided to make the sauce for our pancake breakfast on Sunday. Since only 3 of us, Carlo, my mom and I, would be eating, I halved the recipe, but I wished I made more, because it was so good. Actually, it was too good. I found our cat Socks trying to lick up the sauce off of my plate!

So here’s the recipe! Try it out yourself and let us know how it turned out for you.

Pear Sauce
Source: Paved with Good Intentions

Ingredients:

  • 6 pears, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon

Directions:
Place pears, water, sugar, and lemon juice in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil for 15-20 minutes. Puree in blender and set aside.

One Reply to “Pear Sauce – The Best Pancake Topping!”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

