TWD: Buttery Jam Cookies

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie post is the recipe for Buttery Jam Cookies on page 80, as selected by Heather of Randomosity and the Girl. Check out her great blog, where you’ll also find the recipe.

When I saw that we were going to make Buttery Jam Cookies for this week, I first thought that these were going to be similar to the Linzer Sables. Good thing I read the recipe!!

This is not your traditional cookie to say the least. My expectations were totally not met, but that was not a bad thing. For instance, my initial thought about the cookie was completely different. Another thing was the use of ginger in combination with a jam, which I didn’t think would go well at all, but did. I also thought that these would be more of a flat butter cookie, but not at all.

Again, we have another great, simple cookie recipe from Dorie with interesting yet delicious flavors. My only complaint was that maybe the amount of ground ginger should have been halved, because it seemed too powerful with the raspberry preserves I used. However, Carlo liked the ginger just fine. In fact, he thinks adding some ginger zest would have been a nice touch.

I really need to get a large recipe box, because each week I’m finding new recipes that should become staples in our kitchen.

These cookies were so yummy that even Statler and Waldorf actually liked them…

4 Replies to “TWD: Buttery Jam Cookies”

  1. These were wonderful, weren’t they? Not at all what I was expecting, but that’s not a bad thing. I have a recipe drawer – I don’t think I could find a cute recipe box big enough to fit all the wonderful recipes I’ve found!

  2. glad you liked them, i did too! 🙂 happy holidays… awesome statler and waldorf ornament :)p.s. the problem with the large recipe box is that it just gets bigger and bigger 😉

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

