TWD: Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies

For this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie posting, Ulrike of Küchenlatein chose Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies on pages 146-147. Please visit her website for the recipe.

Sugar cookies are definitely a must-have to have at the holidays. They often are considered the quintessential Christmas cookie, but I kid you not! As much as I have been baking, I never made sugar cookies before. My mom from whom I learned never made them either!! I always wanted to make them, and what a better time to get started!

I was so excited to bake these cookies. After reading the recipe, I was set that I was going to make them into gingerbread shapes. I made Carlo take me to Michaels to get a few cookie cutters and other holiday stuff. I was like a little kid.

When I got started, I had so much fun! I found Dorie’s recipe for these cookies was so easy! I actually was anxious during the chill time, because I just wanted to cut out the shapes. Then when I baked them, I couldn’t wait to decorate them. I totally regressed during this process. I rather wished that I made them with my niece or my younger cousins. We would have had a great time.

After all was said and done, I let Carlo have a cookie. Then I took a cookie. Then Carlo took 2 more. Then I became a party pooper and said to save them for the next day. The next day, we had a couple for breakfast (Breakfast of Champions). I did manage to save two and hang them up on our Christmas tree as ornaments. They look so cute on the tree!

I will be making these again for my family for Christmas…and other holidays.

7 Replies to “TWD: Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies”

  1. I thought this was as easy (if not easier) than the other sugar cookies I make for decorating. My soft sugar cookie favorite though will always be my Nanny’s sugar cookie!

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

