TWD: Linzer Sables

For this past week’s Tuesdays with Dorie listing, noskos of Living the Life chose Linzer Sables on pages 134-135 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours. Please click here to view the recipe.

I’m not a huge fan of Linzer Tarts, and I never had sable cookies before. I was going to skip over this recipe, but linzers have been a favorite of Carlo’s and my mom. So I decided to bake the Linzer Sables for them. The only variations I made were halving the amount of sugar by using Splenda Sugar Blend, and using sugar-free raspberry preserve for the sandwich cookies.

The recipe was very simple. The only issue had was that it seemed that the dough was a little too crumbly before rolling it out. Maybe I overmixed it a bit. Other than that, everything worked out well.

I did try a couple of the cookies, which were a bit dry to my liking. This is why I usually pass on Linzer Tarts. However, they did have a lot of flavor, which was brought out more by the raspberry preserves. Though I’m not sure if I would make these again, unless requested, Carlo and my mom really enjoyed them. And that’s a good thing.

– Carmella

2 Replies to “TWD: Linzer Sables”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

