I Made Sarah’s Applesauce

I made apple sauce, and couldn’t believe how easy it was to do! Using Rome Beauty apples that we pick during our trip to Applewood Orchards, I followed a recipe called “Sarah’s Applesauce” that I found at Allrecipes.com. The only downside is that the recipe doesn’t tell you the size of the apples that you need. I happened to double the recipe, but I used 12 apples, since I had a mix of small and medium ones.

After tasting the apple sauce, I have to say that I was in agreement with many of those who posted their comments about this recipe. I wish I knew how to do this sooner, because the apples with the cinnamon tasted way better than the jarred stuff.

You gotta try it!

Sarah’s Applesauce
Source: Allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 apples – peeled, cored and chopped
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup white sugar (I used 1/4 cup Splenda)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:
In a saucepan, combine apples, water, sugar, and cinnamon. Cover, and cook over medium heat for 15 to 20 minutes, or until apples are soft. Allow to cool, then mash with a fork or potato masher.

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

