TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti…with Pumpkin Spice Kisses

For this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, fellow TWD member Gretchen of Canela & Comino chose Lenox Almond Biscotti found on page 141-143 of Baking from My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. Visit Gretchen’s blog for this week’s recipe and to see what other goodies she has to share!

I love biscotti. They’re a great treat any time of the day. I think I had them just about everyday of our vacation. Jet Blue had pistachio-almond ones on the plane. Our hotel left almond ones in our room during housekeeping. They’re delicious with coffee or on their own.

I was really excited to have the opportunity to make these for TWD. I never made them before, and couldn’t wait to try it. After reading the recipe, it seemed somewhat easy, though I was confused by Dorie’s instruction to arrange the cut bars, standing up like marching soldier. After reading it over a couple of times and checking the P&Q on TWD, I decided to just lay them cut-side down. It turned out just fine.

I followed the recipe as it was, but added 20 chopped Hershey’s Pumpkin Spice kisses, and a couple of dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix. Carlo and I, taking a break from our diet over the weekend, noshed on these. In fact, we had to stop ourselves, after having 3 biscotti each, because they were so good. We immediately packed up the rest and gave them to my mom and my aunt.

These will be made again, really soon!

UPDATE: Some readers of this post have had a hard time locating the Pumpkin Spice Kisses by Hershey. I found them at a local Target store. They carry the Candy Corn Kisses too. You also can find them at Stop & Shop, if that supermarket chain is in your area.

9 Replies to “TWD: Lenox Almond Biscotti…with Pumpkin Spice Kisses”

  1. What a great idea to add the pumpkin kisses! I’m seeing those all over the place lately. Yeah…with those added, it would definitely be hard to stop myself! Beautiful job!

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

