TWD: Minus the Peanuts

This post is coming to you from across the border. That’s right, boys and girls. Carlo and I are in Canada to celebrate our first anniversary. We’ll be sure to post photos when we get back!

For this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy selected Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake, from pages 264 and 265 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours. Her blog has a lot of great posts and photos.. So do check it out. You’ll also find this week’s recipe there.

Yet again, I decided to be a good girl with my diet and not try this myself. And what luck for my cousin Javon who celebrated his 13th birthday last week that I made this as part of his gift.

Since we had no peanuts, and I had never really seen Jay eat them, I left them out of the recipe. I also decided to make brownie cupcakes instead of a whole cake. The recipe yielded about a dozen cupcakes, which took 10-15 minutes off of the bake time. That way, everyone in my family, except Carlo and me, can share.

Making the caramel topping was a bit frustrating for me. I felt the cooking time was rather slow on medium-high heat for sugar-water-corn syrup mixture. The deep amber wasn’t achieved until 15 minutes into cooking. I kept checking it every 2 minutes after 5 minutes. Finally, when my mom did the last check for me, she said it was done. After that, I felt more at ease at moving on.

When the cupcakes were cooled and the caramel ready to go, I dipped the tops with a swirling motion. The caramel dripped a bit, making the cupcakes really tempting. I topped them with some Hershey candy corn kisses I had.

Happy Birthday to Jay!

8 Replies to “TWD: Minus the Peanuts”

  1. I really admire your staying power with the way you’ve been so true to your new eating lifestyle! Keep up the great work! I hope it’s all paying off for you guys.

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

