TWD: Espresso-Infused Crème Brûlée

Being armed with a broiler can be a dangerous thing in the land of creamy desserts!

For Tuesdays with Dorie, we end the month of September with Dorie Greenspan’s Crème Brûlée recipe(from page 393 of Baking from My Home to Yours) as selected by Mari, creator of the blog, Mevrouw Cupcake. Her blog is amazing and I love the photos. So check it out when you can!

I couldn’t wait to try this recipe out. So I actually made this over 2 weeks ago for Carlo’s birthday. I was excited, but nervous, about this, because I really never had Crème Brûlée before.

One down side is that I didn’t have a blow torch. Carlo didn’t want to bother with buying one, since his dad (who’s a chef) could get us one. So I had to go with the broiler method on this, which wasn’t so bad. I had a lot of fun peeping through the oven window to watch the “burning” effect. It was so cool!

I really liked Dorie’s recipe, because it was very versatile. She offered many variations, ranging from tea-infused to raspberry. I went with the Espresso-Infused version. Rather than use ground coffee in cheesecloth, I added about 2 tablespoons of whole espresso beans, which we picked up at a shop in Little Italy on Arthur Avenue (The Bronx). After letting the beans steep in the warmed cream, there was such as strong aroma which was amazing. With the beans removed and the dessert was set and broiled, that espresso flavor wasn’t as strong as I had hoped. However, it did taste very good with a very subtle espresso finish.

I did make this a sugar-free dish, using granulated Splenda instead of sugar. I also replaced the milk with half-and-half to lower the carbs. Those were the only things I did differently.

We’re going to make these again soon! As you can see, Carlo couldn’t wait to eat his!

7 Replies to “TWD: Espresso-Infused Crème Brûlée”

  1. i think the espresso must have worked nicely. a little bitter finish to the sweet dessert must have been perfect. Love your rendition. wonderfully done! and with much lesser guilt too.. hehe

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

