Cocoa Oatmeal Cookies


I made a few sandwich cookies using Warren Brown’s Italian Meringue Buttercream Frosting that I had left over from making the Chocolate Butter Cupcakes.

I hadn’t seen my in-laws in a while. So I decided that for my visit today that I would make cookies for them…well my mother-in-law (My father-in-law is gearing up for surgery and cannot have any). Since she loves oatmeal-raisin cookies, I decided to make them with a twist. I found a recipe for cocoa oatmeal cookies from Allrecipes.com that I thought would be great to try.

My mother-in-law loved them. She just called us a few minutes while munching on them. That means the cookies are a new addition to my recipe book. I will probably make them for Operation Baking Gals this month!

The original recipe yields 4 dozen cookies, but I decided to half it to make 2 dozen. Half of the batch I made, I used to make sandwich cookies using some leftover frosting I had made on Thursday.

Here is the recipe below, yielding 24 cookies:

Cocoa Oatmeal Cookies
Source: Allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Beat butter or margarine and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt; mix well. Stir in oats and raisins, mix well.
  3. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until cookies are almost set. Do not overbake. Cool 1 minute on cookies sheets, then move to wire racks. Cool – store tightly covered.
2 Replies to “Cocoa Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Hello!I stumbled across your recipe when I did a search on Google for "oatmeal cookie oatmeal cocoa". I made them last night, and they're great!Thanks for posting your halved recipe.Cheers,Cindycindy[at]loonielane[dot]ca

  2. i just made these. they are delicious and refreshing! i love the raisin with the cocoa. that's a new combination for me. this is the first time i've visited this blog, and now i'm going to start following you.thank you!

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

