TWD: Chunky Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters Minus the Chunky

The last month has been hectic. So busy that it took me away from Tuesdays with Dorie. Since my last TWD post, we had a lot of changes which included beginning Atkins and eating the low-carb way.

Carlo and I are still in the early stages. We cannot enjoy the results of the recipes I try out, but we are sharing them with our friends and family. I have to admit it’s a hard thing to do.

Now back to baking with TWD, each week, we’re going to have a group of taste testers who will share their feedback. For the September 2nd recipe, TWD tried Chunky Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters from page 73 of Baking from My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. The recipe was selected by Stefany of Proceed with Caution. Check out her blog when you get a chance!

For this recipe, the lucky taste testers were Carlo’s co-workers. I have to say that this one definitely brought smiles to their faces and requests for more. The only thing I did differently was use smooth peanut butter, because that’s all we had in the refrigerator. I don’t know if the chunky would have made that much more in regard to the flavor. It guess it would have added a touch more texture to the already dense cookie.

Carlo took a batch to work at 10:00am. The cookies were gone 90 minutes later, only because he put a cookie limit per person. The next day, he took a dozen, which I was going to give to my cousins, but decided to let the co-workers have instead. Some of the comments Carlo brought back were:

“These were different, but they’re really good”
“When is she going to make more>”
“I really, really liked them!”

For me, all I can say is that the dough smelled delicious, but I had no urge to taste it. Also, the chilling time really made a difference to help shape the cookies and hold them up while baking. I’m one of those folks who gets worried about getting flat discs instead of cookies when done. So i was not disappointed with the results.

I will be making these again. I don’t know when, but I do plan on eating ONE when I do.

For next week, TWD members will be sharing their wonderful baking artistry with Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops from page 85 of Dorie Greenspan’s book. The recipe was selected by Rachel of Confessions of a Tangerine Tart. Do take a peek at her blog.

To see all of the TWD member creation and links to their blogs, visit http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com.

5 Replies to “TWD: Chunky Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters Minus the Chunky”

  1. Wow, I admire your willpower! I try to give as many away as possible. On this recipe I sampled way too many (and too much dough). They are good, so when you can eat them you’ll probably like them.Nancy

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

