Operation Baking Gals: Our Care Package to Daryl

If you haven’t heard of or read about Operation Baking Gals, well you just need to get in the know!

Operation Baking Gals is a great group founded by Susan of She’s Becoming DoughMessTic. The purpose of the group is to spread goodwill through baking. Each round has a series of hosts, heading teams to send care packages of homemade goodies and comforts of “home” to U.S. troops overseas, especially in Iraq and Afghanistan. I’m so glad to have joined. It really is a fulfilling experience, and I know Carlo feels the same.

I missed out on participating in Round One of OBG, but definitely made sure to be a part of Round Two. I joined up with Team Hungry Fox led by Debbie of At the Table with the Hungry Fox. Her son-in-law Daryl is a Staff Sergeant in the US Air Force who is currently serving in Iraq. Maybe it was the Carolina connection that made me join her team, but I’m glad I did.

This weekend, Carlo and I put together our little care package for Daryl to thank him for all he is doing to support our country during a rough time in history. We made him two kinds of cookies: Dorie Greenspan’s Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters (see my post about these next week for TWD) and Canadian Living’s Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies (I’ll be posting a blog entry on Blake Bakes soon). We also threw in a few boxes of candy as well, along with a letter of well wishes.


Just a quick side note: We had a few folks, Carlo’s co-workers, taste test the cookies to give their seal of approval. They devoured them. So I guess that means they liked them, eh? Well I hope Daryl and his airmen enjoy them too.

Packing up the box and taking it to the post office made The Food Duo feel quite good. When you do something nice for someone else, even when you don’t know him, it really can touch you and show you what kind of person you are.

We personally do not know anyone who is in Iraq or Afghanistan. Being a part of Operation Baking Gals really gives more of a personal connection, a face to know of someone who is sacrificing themselves for millions of others. This was really a positive experience. Carlo and I are both looking forward to doing this again the next round!

Well, it’s late. I just finished watching Michelle Obama speak at the DNC. It’s time to hit the hay. So I’m out.

– Carmella

P.S. Tomorrow is Daryl’s 28th birthday. So HAPPY BIRTHDAY to him. We hope he comes home soon and safe.

P.P.S. Guess what?!?! Neither Carlo or myself tried the cookie dough! YAY for beating the cravings. Then again, you can’t beat cravings if you don’t have them, right?

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

