Snickerdoodle-Dooooooooooo

I never had a snickerdoodle before. I never even knew what one was until I started food blogging. So somehow I was driven to make these. Then again, I think it because Carlo kept saying he wanted cookies and I just wanted him to shut up! I’m somewhat glad he nudged me into this, because I was really pleased.

I learned that Snickerdoodles were a German sugar cookie rolled in cinnamon-sugar. So now that I found out what it was and what went into it, I was on the hunt for a recipe. I came across a great, flavorful recipe for these cookies at JoyofBaking.com. The only thing I did differently was halve the sugar and replace it with Splenda Baking Blend. Everything else was exactly as it was in the recipe.

I have to say that these cookies were really tasty. The cinnamon-sugar and vanilla made for a great combination, yet were subtle with each bite of the cookie. The only thing was that I was left with a lot of cinnamon-sugar after rolling the dough balls in it. So I sprinkled the extra on the baked cookies when they were out of the oven.
If you haven’t tried these before, you must try them now!!

Check out these Snickledoodles at http://www.joyofbaking.com/Snickerdoodles.html

3 Replies to “Snickerdoodle-Dooooooooooo”

  1. I stumbled upon your blog by accident and am glad I did. You’ve been bitten by the snickerdoodle bug too, eh? I recently found a recipe for chocolate snickerdoodles that I HAD to make. They incorporate cocoa powder and cinnamon and are heavenly. Try that when you need a carb fix. Congrats on your low carb diet plans. It’s really not that difficult once you adjust. I am a type 1 diabetic and Italian and have managed to survive w/o all the bread and pasta. ;-)Good Luck!p.s. A link to my blog: http://www.mamaliciouseats@wordpress.com

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

