TWD: Apple Cheddar Scones


Apple-y Goodness on a Warm Summer Day!

Thanks to Karina of The Floured Apron, this past week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection was Apple Cheddar Scones from page 32 of Baking from My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. All I have to say is Apple + Cheddar Cheese = DELICIOUSNESS!

If I haven’t said it before, I have to say it now. Apple and cheddar cheese is THE BEST food combinations ever…well next to anything with chocolate! So making these tasty savory with a touch of sweet treats brought a smile to my face. After making the cream scones a few days, I couldn’t wait to see how these would be.

The recipe was super-easy and really quick. The texture of the flour-cornmeal mix went great with the subtle crunch of the apple and sharp cheese flavor. Using fresh pink lady apples and unsweetened apple juice gave a nice touch a sweetness that didn’t overpower the dough.

I know the recipe called for dried apples, but I really wasn’t in the mood to buy any. However, I was concerned fresh apples would cause the mixture to become too moist. Surprisingly, it didn’t impact it at all. So I wonder why Dorie went with dried apples in the first place. If it was for the sweetness, I would have thought the dried ones may have been too much. Maybe there’s a reason for choosing one over the other. Nevertheless, I’m glad I used fresh apples for this recipe, because it was a winner. Carlo couldn’t help himself to 1…2…3…umm 4 scones!!

– Carmella

13 Replies to “TWD: Apple Cheddar Scones”

  1. I can’t say I’ve really tried the apple & cheddar combo, but after seeing all the great TWD entries, I just might have to give it a try! Great job 🙂

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

