TWD: Mixed Berry Cobbler


Ready for the Oven…

Last week, I missed out on Tuesdays with Dorie‘s selection, “Peppermint Crem Puff Ring” from pages 290-292 of Baking from My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. So I was looking forward to seeing what recipe would be next to try. The “Mixed Berry Cobbler,” from pages 416-417, and selected by Beth of Our Sweet Life, made me laugh. I had just made a blackberry cobbler the day before the choice was posted on the TWD site. Nevertheless, I was up for it.

Dorie’s recipe was simple and rather flexible when it came to the berry selection. I used 4 different berries as follow:

1 1/2 cups blackberries
1 1/4 cups blueberries
1 1/4 cups raspberries
1 cup sliced strawberries

In fact, the biggest challenge to the dessert was waiting out the baking time.

The only things I did differently was halved the sugar and replaced it with Splenda Baking Blend. I also included both the zest of 1/2 of a lemon and 1/2 of a lime. I felt it would give the fruit a nice refreshing taste.

My only complaint was Dorie’s recipe for the biscuit topping was too much for the cobbler, though its flavor was spot on. The problem would have been if I had used all of it, it would have made the cobbler too dense and would have overpowered the fruit. I also felt that with the baking time, it could have caused a problem with the topping getting baked unevenly. So I only used half and tried to have fun with it (see the hearts and stars…gotta love cookie cutters).

Overall, both Carlo and myself were pleased with the results. Using only half of the topping made a difference, because it baked perfectly!

What did we do with the rest of the topping? Well, we ate it and forgot to take photos! I decided to make heart-shaped biscuits, and the leftover dough yielded 6 of them. They came out like shortcake. We had them with sliced fruit and drizzled some of the cobbler “syrup” over it. Just wished we had some ice cream. Oh well.

How did the cobbler compare to last week’s blackberry cobbler? They’re pretty much on par with each other. I like the texture of blackberry cobbler a little more, because the dough baked through the entire dessert, as it was also the base. However, Dorie’s fruit blend with the biscuit topping was just like eating a fruit-filled cookie.

Hot and Out of the Oven…

18 Replies to “TWD: Mixed Berry Cobbler”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

