My Recipe for Yummy Spicy Hummus

Hummus is one of our favorite treats, for either dinner or just a snack. Carlo and I love it as a spread for our sandwiches (SO GOOD WITH FALAFEL), as a dip for chips or just by itself. Since the pita bread I made last week was a success in our household, I decided today to try my hand at hummus for the first time.

I have to say that one of the best hummus plates I’ve had was at Mahmoub’s on St. Parks Place in Greenwich Village. It has a nice garlic flavor. Another was at Nicholas’, a Lebanese restaurant in Portland, OR. The olive oil and lemon combination are spot on. My father-in-law, who is also a chef, makes an amazing hummus that’s so creamy and lemon-y that it’s worth a trip across the bridge to NJ to have a spoonful.

So with these faves in mind, I wanted to create something that reminded me of all of them but also had a kick. I tried to put together something that had the right mix of garlic and lemon with some added spice. I don’t like to brag, but I think I did a pretty good job. Here’s my recipe. Try it out and let me know what you think.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 15oz. can of chick peas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Tabasco
  • Juice of 1/2 of a lemon
  • 2 slices of preserved lemons (optional, if you don’t have them)
  • 1 sprig of cilantro, chopped
  • A dash of olive oil, a sprinkle of paprika and a couple of cilatro leaves for decoration

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Pulse garlic in food processor until finely chopped
  2. Add chick peas and pulse 10 times
  3. Add tahini and 1 tbsp of olive oil to chick peas and blend
  4. Mix in the cumin and Tabasco
  5. Blend in the lemon juice, chopped cilantro and 1 tbsp of olive oil until smooth
  6. Spoon mixture into a bowl, and stop with a dash of olive oil, a sprinkle of paprika and the cilantro leaves
Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

