P is for Pita Bread…


It’s good enough for me!!!

With it being Sunday, I took on the task of making pita bread. I’ve always wanted to make my own, but thought it would take up a lot of time. I actually found a recipe that was very simple on RecipeZaar.com, which turned out great.

The pita was delicious and remind both Carlo and myself of the pita we had in Morocco, but not as grainy. For the most part, they puffed up nicely and do make for a nice pita sandwhich. In fact, we’re going to stuff them with Italian turkey load I made today and some mozzarella cheese.

The only complaint I had was when I transferred 3 of the pitas from the baking sheet to a cast iron skillet to put in the oven. They seemed to fall immediately. In the oven, they did puff up around the edge, but there was a dent in the center. So I left the remaining 9 to be baked on the baking sheet. Those were perfect.

The pita is delicious with just olive oil. We also tried it with some black olive spread (YUM). I just need to make some hummus, and we’re all set.

I’m going to make more this coming weekend too!

– Carmella

Here’s the recipe below:

Pita Bread
Source: Recipezaar.com Recipe #16831, submitted by DiB’s
http://www.recipezaar.com/16831

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 1/2 cups bread flour (plus extra for dusting) – I didn’t have bread flour. So I used unbleached all-purpose flour.
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 packet dry active yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 1/3 cups water

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Sift flour and salt together in a large bowl.
  2. Combine yeast, sugar and 1/3 cup very warm water-give a quick stir and set aside for 5 minutes to activate yeast.
  3. Make a well in the flour/salt mixture and add the yeast, 1 cup warm water and the olive oil.
  4. Gently stir to gather dough into a ball-you may need a touch more water-depending on where you live, altitude.
  5. Turn out and knead for 10 minutes.
  6. Put into a LIGHTLY greased large bowl, cover and place in a warm spot for around 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I greased the bowl with a little olive oil
  7. Punch down and knead to smooth.
  8. Cut dough into 12 pieces, form into rounds, roll out and place on a dusted baking sheet, cover and let rest for 45 minutes.
  9. Preheat oven to 500F degrees.
  10. I use my large cast iron skillet for this part, so I place it in the oven and when really hot I place in two pitas and let bake for around 3 minutes-you can broil for 1 minute if you like, just to get the tops browned.
  11. I wrap the cooked pitas in a slightly damp tea towel for a minute or two-then cool and place in plastic bags.
  12. This process can also be done on a cooking sheet.
One Reply to “P is for Pita Bread…”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

