My Take on Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia Ice Cream

This year’s crops of dark cherries, such as bing, have really surprised me. Just about all of the batches we’ve had are full of flavor and seem to last longer than usual. It’s been a great season.

Carlo’s been craving Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia Ice Cream in a bad way. He asked me for 4 days straight if I would try to make some. Surprisingly, I was able to find a great recipe on About.com. It was pretty down close to the real thing. In fact, it was so good that Carlo devoured most of it. I was lucky to get what I did in the photo above.

There were very few variations that I made. The chocolate I used was Amano Artisan Chocolate – Madagascar Premium Dark. I replaced the sugar with 1/4 c + 2tbsp of Splenda Baking Blend (granular Splenda would have left a bad aftertaste, in my opinion). I also doubled the amount of cherries to capture more cherry flavor like B&J’s ice cream.

Now, my mom wants some. So guess what ‘ll be making this evening…

To check out the recipe, click here.

One Reply to “My Take on Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia Ice Cream”

  1. I’m glad that your ice cream turned out so well…. I’ll have to give it a try later this summer when I’m having a get together with some friends.-ArtAmano Artisan Chocolate

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

