Sprinkles Strawberry Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting


Naked cupcakes

Today was my father-in-law’s birthday. As part of his gift, I decided to bake him a dozen cupcakes. For some reason, I decided that they should be strawberry. After looking through various cook books and websites, I came across one called Sprinkles’ Strawberry Cupcakes from AllThingsCupcake.com.

As I do with most baking, the sugar was replaced with Splenda. For the cupcakes, I used the Splenda Baking Blend, since the granulated often leaves a chalky after-tasted wih baked goods. I substituted the Sprinkles Strawberry Frosting with the Easy Vanilla Buttercream Frosting recipe, which I found here. The confectioners’ sugar was made from granulated Splenda (I ran out of the baking blend) and cornstarch (See Recipe Here)

I actually made too much strawberry puree. So as a variation on this recipe, I piped some of into the cupcakes as a filling. I did this after they were baked and slightly cooled. At first, I made the hole by pushing the pastry tip into the cupcake, but then it got a little messy. So I used a straw to make the holes and then piped the puree into the cupcakes.

Another thing I did was to lightly brush some of the puree on top of each cupcake. I then placed the cupcakes into the freezer for about 10 minutes to get them completely cooled to frost them.

Now, I don’t know how they taste, but Carlo and I thought they looked great. I do hope my father-in-law enjoyed them.

– Carmella

Fully frosted:

Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2/3 cup whole fresh or frozen strawberries, thawed (I used fresh strawberries which were de-stemmed)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/4 cup whole milk, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup Splenda Baking Blend)
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 2 large egg whites, room temperature
  • Sprinkles’ Strawberry Frosting (I did not used this frosting. I used the Easy Vanilla Buttercream Frosting as posted on the blog, The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners; set aside.
  2. Place strawberries in a small food processor; process until pureed. You should have about 1/3 cup of puree, add a few more strawberries if necessary or save any extra puree for frosting; set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. In a small bowl, mix together milk, vanilla, and strawberry puree; set aside.
  4. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter on medium-high speed, until light and fluffy. Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until well combined and fluffy. Reduce the mixer speed to medium and slowly add egg and egg whites until just blended.
  5. With the mixer on low, slowly add half the flour mixture; mix until just blended. Add the milk mixture; mix until just blended. Slowly add remaining flour mixture, scraping down sides of the bowl with a spatula, as necessary, until just blended.
  6. Divide batter evenly among prepared muffin cups. Transfer muffin tin to oven and bake until tops are just dry to the touch, 22 to 25 minutes. Transfer muffin tin to a wire rack and let cupcakes cool completely in tin before icing.
Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

