First Cupcake Hero Challenge – DRUCK-CAKES


A sprinkley-hearted Deconstructed-Reconstructed Cupcake, aka a DRUCK-CAKE

When I joined Tuesdays With Dorie, I came cross another baking challenge, also ran by “Quirky Cupcake” blogger Laurie, called Cupcake Hero that I just had to try. After seeing the results of last month’s Marshmallow challenge, I was looking forward in participating in my first cupcake challenge. For April, the theme was selected as “Earth Day.”

There are so many things one can do for the theme. Since I was planning on making a pound cake for Carlo and me on Tuesday night, I thought about recycling the cake in a way by making a new dessert out of it. We had some chocolate pudding in the fridge that I needed to be consumed as well. Hence came the idea for Deconstructed, Reconstructed Cupcakes, which Carlo has now coined “DRUCK-CAKES.”

It was hard trying to figure out how to turn these into cupcakes. I was going to try to take the cake and layer it with the pudding in cupcake liners, but I didn’t think they would hold up. So I decided to put them into ramekin dishes. Then, I thought about putting in the dishes with the pudding and turning them over, but that would have been messy. After a while, I decided to literally make CUP cakes with the ramekin as the cup and eating it with a spoon. I also decided to use the pudding in a frosting with some cream cheese we had in the refrigerator. It all worked out.

I must say that I’m pretty proud of the results.

– Carmella

Below are my recipes for the cupcakes and the frosting I made. Feel free to try them out and share your feedback:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 of a pound cake (I used leftover Perfection Pound Cake)
  • 1 to 1.5 c. of Simple Pudding Cream Frosting (See recipe below)
  • Sprinkles, jimmies, whatever decoration you like

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Lightly spray the ramekin dishes with cooking spray, set aside
  2. Rough cut cake into smaller pieces, and place in a food processor or blender
  3. Pulse on low until cake turns into fine crumbles
  4. In each ramekin dish, add 1/2 c of cake crumbs and pack down with a spoon
  5. Spoon 2 tbsp of chocolate frosting and spread evenly over crumbles
  6. Add 1/2 c of cake crumbles on top of frosting and pack firmly
  7. Wrap each dish tightly with plastic wrap and chill for approx. 30 to 1 hour
  8. Top the cupcake with as much frosting as you like
  9. Add your favorite decorations
  10. Serve

Simple Pudding Frosting

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz of cream cheese, softened
  • 1 envelope of your favorite pudding mix
  • 1 c. of milk
  • 1 c. of whipping cream

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Using a stand mixer with a whisk attachment, beat cream cheese on high until light and smooth
  2. Add pudding mix and milk, and whisk on medium until all is well-blended. Stop in between to scrape down the sides of mixing bowl
  3. Add whipping cream, stir on high until fully incorporated, thickened and tracks appear

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

