Strawberry Lemonade On a Crazy, Cloudy Sunday


A nice sweet drink, come rain or come shine

Today’s going to be a crazy day in this big ole city with the Pope heading over to Yankee Stadium today to celebrate Mass. The weather’s currently cloudy, and I heard it may rain. No, I won’t be attending the festivities, but I’m sure my mom may come over here to watch it on the tele. So, I decided to make some lemonade for her since she’s tired of just drinking water or tea when she comes over. With 2 packs of strawberries, I wanted to try something different. I came across the below recipe from RecipeZaar.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 cups water, cold
  • 1 quart fresh strawberry
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cups club soda, cold
  • lemon slice (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place water, strawberries & sugar in a blender; cover & blend until smooth.
  2. Stir in lemon juice.
  3. Blend in soda; serve immediately, garnished with lemon if desired.

I replaced the sugar with the equal amount of granulated Splenda and left out the club soda. It was pretty darn refreshing. I even woke Carlo up to have a sip and he liked it.

I’m definitely going to make this again. We’re hoping to get friends together for a picnic in a few weeks. This drink will be on hand, and I may spike it a bit with some run or some white wine spritzer.

Happy Sunday!

– Carmella

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

