Apple Pie Cheddar Paninis


My yummy take on grilled cheese.

Fun Fact: April is National Grilled Cheese Month

One of my favorite combinations is apple and cheddar cheese. When I make apple pie, I usually top it with a slice of cheese. It’s really good! I also like to put some cooked apples over toast with shredded cheddar cheese. That’s yummy too!

Yesterday, Carlo and I bought some Cameo apples at the Union Square Greenmarket. I never tried them before, but thought they were worth a try after reading the description of them. They looked really good, smelled sweet and were huge in comparison with other apples I’ve seen.

Cameo apples, discovered in Washington State, are a cross between Red Delicious and Golden Delicious. They work well as cooking apples, just like Granny Smith, but less tart. I may try them in a pie in the future.

As a bridal shower gift, I was given a Mario Batali Panini Grill Pan and Press. I had yet to use it until this morning. I decided that I wanted to make something for breakfast with the apples. What a great opportunity to use the panini press!! Hence, my creation of the Apple Pie Cheedar Panini was born.

Here is the recipe below. It’s for 4 sandwiches, but I only made 2 this morning. So it can easily be modified.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 slices of your favorite bread (I used stone ground whole wheat)
  • 1 Cameo apple, peeled, cored, then chopped (I personally like to keep the peel on)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup of shredded Cheddar cheese (depends on how cheesy you want it)
  • 1/8 cup of sugar (I used equal amount of Splenda)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons of butter at room temperature
  • Cooking spray

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix together the cinnamon and sugar
  2. Toss cinnamon sugar with the apples
  3. Lightly grease pan with cooking spray and place on stove
  4. Let pan get warm before placing 4 slices of the bread on it
  5. Top each slice of bread with 1/8th of the shredded cheese
  6. Top each with 1/4th of the apple mixture and 1/4 tablespoon of butter
  7. Add the remaining cheese to each, before placing down the top slices.
  8. Spread the remaining butter upon each top slice of bread
  9. Lightly sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on top slices

Even if you don’t have a panini press, you can make this just like a regular grilled cheese in a pan with a spatula or on a griddle.

Enjoy!

– Carmella

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

