My First TWD Challenge

Yeah, I’m re-posting a photo!!
So I posted the recipe for the Cake Batter Ice Cream you see on the left. Well this time, I’m sharing the mini cake you see on the right. Over the weekend, I took on my first challenge from Tuesdays with Dorie. This is a great blog where each week a member selects a recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours. It’s a lot of fun to test it out and see the results of others.

Last week, the recipe selected was Gooey Chocolate Cakes from pages 261-262 of the book. I definitely had to try it. I must say that the recipe was fairly easy, thanks to Dorie’s writing style. The only thing that sucked for me was that I couldn’t get the cakes’ centers to be gooey. I tried twice and each time, the cakes seemed to “overbake.” However, the cakes were still moist and delicious, especially with the ice cream I made.

I learned something about my oven from other members of the TWD group. My oven could actually have a higher temperature than it should. I mentioned this to Carlo and he said that could be it and it could be attributed to us living on the 4th floor of our building. Ovens on ground level bake an item at a lower degree than those on higher levels. I guess that’s because heat rises. I don’t know.

I plan on trying the cakes again, because they taste great. I will cut the temperation by 25 degrees and cut the cooking time probably down to 9-10 minutes, rather than 13 and see what happens.

I will post the recipe later as an update…

– Carmella

3 Replies to “My First TWD Challenge”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

