Challah Bread, Take II – Baking with Julia Recipe

My first try a few weeks ago was good, but a little too flour-y for my liking. Though Carlo, my mom and my aunt loved it, I wasn’t totally happy. So I wanted to try again, using a different recipe. I searched around until I bought Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking from My Home to Yours. After getting that book, I found out that she had written a Julia Child cookbook called Baking with Julia. I haven’t bought it yet, but I knew it would be good. So Carlo borrowed a copy from work for me to look at. And guess what? There was a challah recipe in there!

The recipe seems a little more involved than the first one I tried. However, there was less flour and it seemed very careful with its steps. It’s one of those things where taking your time is good! And with a total of 3 rises and 3 glazings, the hours it took was well worth it.

TASTE: The Julia Child challah bread was less flour-y (only 6 cups of flour) than the first recipe (8 hours). The breaking up of the cooking time for the glazing also was great. I think the yolk and heavy cream in this recipe really helped to add to the flavor as well as better uniform the sheen it took. This is actually one of the best challah breads I’ve ever had.

Carlo pretty much devoured 1/2 of 1 loaf by himself. We each tried a piece with some Italian Bread Dip from Stew Leonard’s (YUM!) I left some of the same loaf for my mom. Carlo took the entire second loaf to work. Hope they like it.

Recipe from p.93 of Baking with Julia: Savor the Joys of Baking with America’s Best Bakers by Dorie Greenspan

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

