Cake Batter Ice Cream

Served with rainbow sprinkles and my first attempt at Gooey Chocolate Cakes (YUM!)

One of my favorite ice cream flavors is Cake Batter Ice Cream. After learning about Ben & Jerry’s latest ice cream, Yellow Cake Batter Ice Cream with a Chocolate Frosting Swirl , I was inspired to try to make my own (minus the chocolate frosting).

BTW, I absolutely love having the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen-Aid!

I came across a great recipe from Recipezaar. All of the great reviews were spot on! It was so simple!

The ice cream came out amazing. Carlo and I were actually dipping our fingers into the left over bits in the freezer bowl. It was sooooooo good!

You just have to try it!

– Carmella

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup whole milk, well chilled (I actually used fat free milk, since that’s what I had)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (I used Splenda instead)
  • 2 cups heavy cream, well chilled
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup cake mix (I used Pillsbury Yellow Cake Mix)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place freezer bowl of ice cream maker into the freezer. It is better to keep it in there 24/7 that way it is always ready.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla to taste.
  4. Stir in cake mix, making sure there are no lumps.
  5. Pour mixture into the freezer bowl and let mix until it has thickened (about 25-30 minutes).
  6. Remove ice cream from freezer bowl and place into a separate container.
  7. Place freezer bowl and the ice cream into the freezer to further harden.
One Reply to “Cake Batter Ice Cream”

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

