Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

I’m in the mood to bake today. Carlo and I are trying a new muffin recipe each week and are having fun doing so. I’m still on this banana kick, more than ever. Today, I felt like trying banana and peanut butter together in a muffin. I came across the below recipe at Recipezaar and pretty much followed it to a T. However, I have to be honest. I honesty wasn’t too keen on the taste at first when served warm (Carlo liked them though). When I let them completely cool, I really enjoyed them.

Next time, I think I’m going to add chocolate chips or cocoa powder.


INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking oats or old fashioned oats, uncooked
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas, about 1 large
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
Topping
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons margarine, melted
  • 2 tablespoons firmly packed brown sugar

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 375°F.
  2. Grease 12 medium muffin cups, or line with paper baking cups.
  3. Combine flour, oats, brown sugar and baking powder.
  4. Whisk together milk, peanut butter, banana, egg, oil and vanilla; add to dry ingredients, mixing just until moistened.
  5. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.
  6. Combine topping ingredients; sprinkle evenly over batter.
  7. Bake 16 to 18 minutes or until golden brown.
  8. Serve warm. Carlo and I preferred them when completedly cooled. They were more flavorful.

Yummy Banana Saturday!

– Carm

Talk to Us & Leave a Reply!

